Today you are adding color to your piece, and tomorrow we will do the transfer portion (click images to enlarge).

What you need today:

  • watercolors
  • a larger brush (about 1/2″ or so)
  • a cotton rag or paper towel
  • clear acrylic spray

1. Using lots of water, paint a thin layer of watercolor over your gessoed cereal box. In this case I chose orange. (The coloring should be PALE… if it’s not transparent and pale, add more water!)

2. Let wash dry completely.

3. Choose a second color and repeat step one with that color (in this case, yellow).

4. Let dry COMPLETELY.

5. [NOTE: I’m missing a photo here because it was too blurry, but ended up having to repeat the step later so, you visual learners, see photo #7…] Using your rag and pointer finger, dip the rag into water and squeeze out the excess water so it is not dripping. Then, with damp rag in hand, gently rub the watercolor around in a circular motion. You are basically blending the two colors together, varying your pressure so that in some cases it is lighter and some it is darker. At some point your rag will have too much pigment on it, so you need to find a clean spot, dampen the area, and continue.

6. Most of the time two layers of watercolor are enough, but in this case I felt I needed to add another layer of color. This time I added a layer of pale brown.

7. After that third layer was completely dry, I rubbed the pigment around with my dampened rag, repeating step 5.

8. Now I’m liking it a little better. (Click to see detail)

9. Spray with a light coating of acrylic spray. (I use Krylon UV Resistant spray.)

Okay, that’s it for today! Tomorrow is the day you’ve been waiting for… the transfer step!

What you’ll need:

  • Ink-jet transfer paper, cold peel (I use Avery T-Shirt Transfer Paper)
  • Photo, scanned into your computer
  • Iron