One of my favorite blogs to visit is Pikaland: The Illustrated Life. Amy does such a wonderful job of ferreting out and highlighting all kinds of wonderful artists and illustrators!

She also hosts the Pikaland Package Project (truly, a labor of love), and this time I’m a part of it! For details on how to win a package, go here.

Here is my “page” in the zine that you can download free!

Carla Sonheim

Seattle, WA

http://www.carlasonheim.com

How about a brief introduction?

Gosh, this is always so hard! Perhaps a haiku is in order:

Guess I’m an artist
since I spend my time drawing,
painting and fretting.

Who/what inspires you?

Children’s art!!! I also love Outsider Art, contemporary illustration, and the work of Picasso, Klee, and Modigliani.

What message would you like to send out about your work?

I draw animals and people. My characters are mostly happy with their lives, but with brief moments of confusion, perplexity, or grumpiness… hey!!!

I am happiest when I’ve been able to record those brief “clouds of emotion” crossing all of our faces on any given day.

What is your biggest accomplishment to date?

I wrote a book! (It’s due out July 1st: “Drawing Lab for Mixed Media Artists: 52 Creative Exercises to Make Drawing Fun”)

Share a secret with us!

I’m not good at keeping secrets. The only secret I have right now I can’t tell because I’m bound to secrecy!