I’ve had a busy month, and haven’t had much time to settle down at my studio table and paint… but I HAVE been able to draw in my sketchbook with my favorite black marker (Sharpie Ultra Fine Point). The CREATIVE part of my brain seems to be napping, though, so exercises from Drawing Lab have helped me keep drawing this month, regardless!

The above drawings were all inspired by sidewalk cracks and/or other “blobs” found on streets or sidewalks (Lab 38: Sidewalk Crack Drawings).

“Baby Guy” was a Direct-Response Drawing a’la Sarah Wilde (Lab 10: At the Coffee Shop). I was at a coffee shop and there was a baby standing at the door… I did my quick blind contour drawing and when I looked saw that he had a little mustache… hee.

And this one is a modification of Lab 6: Index Card Multiples… instead of drawing the same dog multiple times (and on index cards), I drew the same fish multiple times on the same page. (I did it during my husband’s bike race… approximately one fish per lap).

* * * * * * * * * * * *

THANK YOU to everyone who has been visiting so often this month, leaving comments, doing the drawing prompts, and generally helping me celebrate the launch of my first book!