The folks at PanPastel contacted me about a month ago asking if I would like to bring samples of their product to ArtUnraveled and share them with my students there… of course I said an enthusiastic “yes,” as I already owned several colors and really loved them. They were quite generous, and sent two palette trays… 10 colors each… a total of 20 colors.

For a few days I carried both trays around, but then decided to simplify and only carry one. I chose my “favorite” colors of the batch they sent and put them in one tray. Here are those colors:

So pretty! And here are a couple of faces I did in my sketchbook using these colors only:

I really like how they turned out!

But then I saw the OTHER palette sitting on our couch…. These are the colors I didn’t like so much… or at least I could “live without them” when I was making my choices:

They’re not as pretty as a group, right?

But I wondered what would happen if I made some faces using the “ugly” colors only. Here are the results:

I was so surprised…  in some ways the colors are BETTER!

Lesson Learned #1: I don’t know what the heck I’m doing.

Lesson Learned #2: But I’m willing to try new things, so it ends up LOOKING like I know what I’m doing.

Now you know all my secrets.