My mother was in town from California this past weekend, and she joined me for two workshops. Friday night’s class was small enough that I could sit down and do some of the exercises with her… above are the “wrong-handed portraits” we did of each other!

My mother made this cute thing using PanPastels. The “assignment” was then to go in and add linework and shading with ballpoint pen, but I stopped her. When a piece works beautifully as-is, why touch it?

At 73, my mom was a really good sport I thought. Here she drew some antique portraits using a limited color palette and the “cheater blind” technique (partial blind contours).

Yay, Kay!

* * * * * * * * * * *

Friday, October 15th is the last day to sign up for the Silly2 workshop. At this point you would do the worksheets at your own pace, but if you’d like to join in, see here for the signup info. The worksheets will be up and available until December 15th!