We’re in the middle of my online class, The Art of Silliness 1 (Redux), which is a repeat of the very first class held in April 2010. (The class has been tons of fun, as always! Thanks, Silly People!) As I’m going through the old worksheets and revamping them for this new session, I’m making decisions about which lessons to keep as part of the formal course, and which ones get relegated to “extra” worksheets.

Sometimes the decisions are tough. Here is part of yesterday’s worksheet, which almost became an “extra”:

Silly, huh? But in the end I decided that it was too important of a point to not be part of the formal course.

And then, digging in my garage this weekend, I found this wonderful book, “The Joy of Drawing” by Gerhard Gollwitzer, with the following as one of the chapters:

ALWAYS DRAW WITH YOUR EYES
Do not work out your exercises only on paper; practice with your eyes continually, wherever you are.

And, later:

Another time you may trace along a graceful birch branch with your eyes or the tortured, jerky zigzag of an apple tree. You will notice tension and strength or fatigue and slackness in handwriting. You will have the experience that until now you had not known how the world looks even though you had believed that liar, photography. Your eye becomes creative again. It is always drawing-lesson time, even if you are not drawing.

I’m pretty sure I must have read this long, long ago, and it surfaced when I was creating The Art of Silliness (even though I thought I had made it up!). It’s amazing what our minds will remember, isn’t it?

(And just reinforces what Gollwitzer and the Silly Queen are trying to say!)

😀