Hello! I wanted to share something that happened today. I was waiting for the train and had pulled out my sketchbook, when a young man came up to me and asked if he could sit next to me watch me work. He had recently picked up painting, and envied those who “could draw.”

On the train he asked a question or two and then confessed that he couldn’t draw at all. (Ha — NOT something you really want to say to a drawing teacher!)

I handed him my book and asked him to draw something. He very tentatively drew a small car (not shown here).

It was actually a really cute little drawing! But he had admired my “strong” lines earlier and so I showed him how to do a one-liner of a car (my sample is top left). Then I set him to work the rest of the train ride, encouraging him work as quickly as possible (“triple time!”).

And just look at the cool and confident cars he drew! He got off a few stops before me, with a big smile on his face.

Drawing does that to people!

* * *

(No, book not done yet. Soon, though!)