Tags

, , ,

I told myself I wasn’t going to do New Year’s Resolutions this year.

BUT! After leaving my laptop home for six days over Christmas, I realized how much I enjoyed my extra time NOT watching TV.

(I should say that I don’t consider myself a huge TV-watcher; Steve and I haven’t had a television in the house since the early 90s, and our evenings with younger children were busily spent with homework, dinner, baths, playing, and reading. Netflix, however, changed all this, and over the past five years I’ve found myself watching more and more television at nights.)

But I got out of the TV habit over Christmas and haven’t tuned in since. And I’ve been enjoying my extra time sewing, reading, and drawing! Here are two pieces I did yesterday after viewing and being inspired by the beautiful work of illustrator Nelleke Verhoeff, owner of Red Cheeks Factory. (Thanks, Nelleke!)