Tags

, , , , ,

Today I’d like to introduce you to Netherlands-based artist Petra Overbeek Bloem. I “found” Petra online last year (I can’t remember where, now), and was completely taken with the sumi-E animal work she was doing!

(Images reproduced with permission.)

Petra writes, “In the 1980’s I was introduced to sumi-E. I was fascinated; the power of a single brushstroke is overwhelming. To paint with ink and Chinese brush on rice paper gives me energy, strength and joy. ”

“I started to paint in the old eastern tradition, but being a western woman in this day and age I had to find my own way. The technique stayed the same, but growing up and living in the Netherlands has made its mark.”

I just love these dogs, don’t you?

The works shown above are all recent works. I chose a different dog and a beautiful ostrich to appear in “Drawing and Painting Imaginary Animals.” Thank you, Petra, for agreeing to be in the book!

BOOK GIVEAWAY
Visit Petra’s blog today and leave a comment (opmerkingen) for a chance to win a copy of the book! (Remember, leave a comment at Petra’s site!)

*************************
This post is part of a Two-Week Book Release Celebration for my new book, “Drawing and Painting Imaginary Animals: A Mixed-Media Workshop with Carla Sonheim.” For the schedule, which includes book and art giveaways, contributing artists features, tutorials, and assignments, click here.