reindeerworksheetnadia.JPG

I recently got an email from Nadia, an art teacher. She sent a fun holiday worksheet that she gives her students, and I wanted to share it with you, too.

Have a wonderful holiday and New Year celebration!

xoxo

Carla

___________________________

Nadia writes:

Around the holidays I enjoy making these activity sheets for my students.  Even my 8th graders love doing them. This year it was “Roll a Reindeer.”

Directions:

Sometimes the hardest part about drawing is just starting (I believe Carla has said this in some of her online classes, and it’s so true!). I hear, “I don’t know how to start!”  from my art students frequently. Around the holidays I make these activity sheets to help them get started on their seasonal drawings.  Here’s how you use it:

1.  At the top of each column is a body part of the reindeer, something that might be around the reindeer, or the location of the reindeer. (In the location section one of the boxes says “Somewhere on Saipan”, this is the island where we live, so feel free to fill that in with your own hometown).

2.  Grab a die and roll, or if you’re without one, close your eyes and point to a box.

For example, if you’re choosing a box for the body of your Reindeer and you pick rectangular, that will be the general body shape of your reindeer. It doesn’t have to be exact, it can have rounded corners or pointy corners, but try to make it rectangular in some way!

3.  Roll your die again, but this time you’re rolling for the shape of the head. Keep doing this for each column and see what kind of reindeer you end up with.

*Kids often ask if they can reroll if they get a shape they don’t like. The answer is yes!  You may roll a shape and it doesn’t feel right to you, that is fine!  Just use this sheet as a rough guideline. Be sure to have fun and let yourself make some fun and silly reindeer.

**I also didn’t include facial features, fill those in how you like.

Here are a few examples of some of the works in progress that the kids and I did yesterday:

image1image2

Click the link below for the worksheet for you to download, print, and play!

reindeerworksheetnadia

  

worksheetreindeer.jpg
A quick worksheet reindeer drawing… thanks, Nadia!