Steve and I will be married 25 years on June 19th. So I’m doing a little countdown here at the blog and will continue the Something FOUNDSomething WRITTEN, and Something MADE format.

______________________

#13 Days before the Silver Anniversary

Something FOUND

I got a book out of the library yesterday by David Sedaris: Theft by Finding: Diaries 1977-2002. He wrote this when he was 29 years old. He writes beautifully and humorously about the absurd moments of life, so I think his last sentence is true!

sedaris

________________

Something WRITTEN

So far we’ve talked about Steve’s cycling and cuddly pillows in the form of Me.

But today I would like to talk about ACTUAL pillows — not the sleeping kind but the couch kind.

Steve and I have always liked the idea of pillows, and see them as a way to dress up, fairly inexpensively, the rather thrown-together living rooms we’ve had over the years (think “college apartment” decor).

Currently we have the following five pillows:

 

  1. Two 18″x18″ square pillows, originally purchased for a photo shoot in which I was directed to find bright colors. I didn’t like the designs, so after the shoot I bought some beige linen covers on etsy, hoping to make them more elegant looking. Instead they just are ugly (why do they look so great in the magazines?). I tried to cover them again with white linen covers from Ikea, but they didn’t fit properly and ended up looking cheap. So now I’m back to the beige linen, one of them with gold spots painted on one side (something I tried one day but also hated immediately; it felt “forced”).
  2. One 22″x22″ pillow made from African Kuba cloth. I bought this a few years ago at a garage sale for way too much hoping it would add some drama to the beige-brown motif I had going. It is beautiful but a) also mostly beige-brown, and b) it’s scratchy and really isn’t meant to be touched.
  3. One small round rust-colored pillow made with recycled t-shirts. This I purchased on sale at kind of a hip store here in Seattle. Steve wasn’t sure if it was something cool or something terribly uncool; I assured him it was cool because I had bought it at that particular store. He said okay, but I’ve never seen him use it.
  4. One long pillow (about 13″x36″) from Anthropologie, with fake Moroccan or Indian designs stamped on. It’s pretty but Steve hates how it feels and throws it off the couch whenever he wants to sit down. (It’s on the floor as I write.)

Our pillows don’t seem to stay where they belong and end up all over the place, so at nighttime there is a moment before we sit down to watch tv where each of us is frantically looking for a comfortable pillow.

It’s a mad race for the ugly ones.

If one of the ugly pillows is not on the couch and would require one of us to get up and retrieve it, I usually let Steve have the ugly one and make do with a combination of the remaining three pillows that are within arms reach.

That’s just the kind of wife I am.

________________

Something MADE

buns2

____________

Have a wonderful day and I’ll see you tomorrow!