Steve and I will be married 25 years on June 19th. So I’m doing a little countdown here at the blog and will continue the Something FOUNDSomething WRITTEN, and Something MADE format.

______________________

1 Day before the Silver Anniversary

Something FOUND

A delightful post over at 50 Watts on 1950s Japanese Ads:

japan

________________

Something WRITTEN

“Watch Out for the Overturned Jeep” Part 2

We set off, the three of us: Christer (now 4), Steve, and I.

This cross-country trip was beginning on a different note than the one in the summer of 1990. We were tired from the holidays and had had a rough couple of days. Someone’s feelings were hurt: “We had a fight just DAYS after the engagement? What does that MEAN?”

We said goodbye to my mother and set off at 7pm; if all went well we would arrive to Steve’s parents house by lunchtime the next day. We planned to drive all night… since we weren’t yet married, a hotel room seemed out of the question.

After a few hours in the car, though, we started to relax and things were good! Christer fell asleep in the back seat and we drove. And drove. And drove.

Now, we were only a little bit older, but somehow the Young Us that could drive all night just a year before had evaporated after we made arrangements to become an Old Married Couple. It was only midnight and we were exhausted.

But no worries! We could do it!

We drove several more hours. I don’t think I’ve ever been as tired as I was that night. I could hardly keep my eyes open, but I forced myself to stay awake for Steve’s sake.

At about 4am we exited the freeway to get some gas, and I saw something on the road ahead. “Watch out for the overturned jeep,” I warned him in my best stoner voice, as if running across overturned jeeps in the middle of the night was a common occurrence.

“That’s not a jeep,” Steve countered in an equally slow and calm voice, “it’s a herd of elk.”

“Oh,” I murmured, nodding in agreement.

We slowed down so as not to scare the herd as we passed.

But… there were no elk.

There wasn’t a jeep either.

There was…. nothing.

Steve braked — hard — and the two of us woke up from our sleep-driving. “I think we should get a hotel,” Steve said, and I’m pretty sure I’ve never felt happier to hear those words in my life. And a mere twenty minutes later we were slipping into blissful unconsciousness when Christer’s cheerful, singsongy little voice startled us awake:

“I not tired!”

________________

Something MADE

couple

____________

Have a wonderful day and I’ll see you tomorrow!